alo365's blog

Sharing thoughts & experiences

What does your job mean to you?

on February 18, 2011

“What does your job mean to you? Does it have any meaning?”

This sounds like a rather strange blog post, but this was a question that was posed to me (& everyone else) in my first lecture on Managing People at Uni. This question is one that I was quite surprised to be asked quite frankly.  It’s one I wasn’t expecting.

Of course, to me, my job absolutely has meaning. So this is what I wrote:

My job has always been extremely important to me. Perhaps because it gave me a lifeline to be able to stay and live in the UK, or perhaps it was something that was mine and I had the choice to give as much or as little as I chose to. Bearing in mind that if I gave very little I would most definitely not be in the current role that I’m in!

Working with charities was, I have to admit, something I fell into – but 4 years down the line, I have to say that I absolutely love it & couldn’t see myself working in any other sector.  During this time not only have I learnt and developed new skills, I have also met some truly inspirational and passionate people.

Working with many different charities has been amazing and challenging at the same time. I have been working in the sector 4 years this May, and whilst this seems like most of my life, it is very much just the beginning!

I really do love my job; yes it may be stressful at times, but ask me about our plans for the next couple of years & you will see me light up! I am currently working on a new project of my own, and I cannot wait to pitch the idea to my MD. Yes, it is nerve-racking and it does add a bit of risk to our organisation, but in return we will be able to help charities who are struggling – and that, in my opinion, is priceless

Leave a Reply

